The history of the Kyiv Christian University has its beginning in October 1992, when the mission organization “PRO Mission Inc.” (USA) was invited to organize a faculty of theology in the Academy of Modern Knowledge (AMK) in Russia. The President of “PRO Mission Inc.” Dr. James Ervin committed this task to Dr. Anatoliy Mykolayovych Yaloshyn.

In February 1993, after four months of preparation, the Russian-American Christian University (RACU) was opened on the basis of AMK. The students not only from Russia, but also from Ukraine and other countries of Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) studied there.

Two years later, in 1995, Dr. Gryhoriy Ivanovych Komendant, the Head of the Evangelical Baptist Union, invited the RACU to move to Kiev. There the University received the name “Ukrainian-American Christian University” (UACU). The reason, why it was necessary to move to Kiev, was the fact, that Ukraine needed skilled ministers and theologians, who would be able to work as teachers, pastors and missionaries.

In September 1997, UACU received state registration and was named as Kyiv Christian University (KCU), whose founder was Evangelical Baptist Union. Dr. A. M. Yaloshyn became a Chairman of the Board of Trustees and S. I. Volosyuk became a President of KCU.

In 1999, KCU bought and reconstructed three new buildings and moved into them. It gave an opportunity to extend the number of students. Thus in 2001, 75 full-time students studied at the University. At that time the plans to build a new educational and administrative building were conceived. The possibilities of the territory would allow to have about 200 full-time students, if there is the new building. In 1999, the process of accreditation of three study programs had begun and was successfully accomplished on October 2003.

In 2001, the first changes in the membership of administration took place at KCU. The Chairman of the Board of Trustees left his position because of health reasons. V. Kulbich became his successor.

In September 2003, the head of the Baptist Union G. I. Komendant appointed V. V. Kozubovskiy to the position of the President of KCU. Kozubovskiy graduated from Appalachian Bible College (USA), where he studied at pastor’s program. The functioning of the University was improved in the course of a few following years. The number of colleagues was increased, the mission and goals of KCU were revised, the work on improving an image of the University was intensified, and the interrelation between the University and churches improved. The administrative and academic departments were totally reorganized; the functioning of PR department was resumed, etc.

In February 2005, KCU became an official partner of Overseas Council International and received a certificate of partnership in Osijek, Croatia.

In July 2006, the leadership of the Evangelical Baptist Union invited V. P. Shemchyshyn, a minister in the sphere of Christian education, to take a position of President of KCU.    S. G. Chernov (he was pro-rector from 2003) was appointed to a position of executive director of KCU. New tasks arose: to strengthen partnership with Western Christian organizations, to begin a dialogue with leadership of secular educational institutes, to open part-time programs, to open and develop secular specialities on the basis of Christian worldview. Preparation of all departments of KCU for realization of the formulated tasks took place during the following time.

From September 2007, three new programs have begun to function. They are “The Basics of the Bible and Theology,” full-time program of 1 year (certificate); “Youth Ministry Leadership,” part-time program of 2 years; “Christian Journalism,” part-time program of 2 years.

In the beginning of September 2008, the leadership of the Baptist Union invited V. M. Grygorenko to take a position of a President of KCU and appointed V. P. Shemchyshyn  to be a Chairman of the Board of Trustees.

In the beginning of 2009, a work on creation of mutual educational programs on the basis of KCU has begun together with the Vienna International University and the European University.